Let’s Talk Fitness

Disclaimer: I’m not a doctor or dietician, so you should see a professional before making any health related choices!

With that over with, let’s talk fitness.

It’s been on my heart lately to talk about fitness and my journey. If you don’t know where I came from, how can you understand how far I’ve come? Let’s name today Transformation Tuesday. For all you instagramers, this should sound familiar.

Let’s go back about 7 years ago. I used to play volleyball. My school was super competitive and took pride in how fit the volleyball team was. We ran miles every day and lifted like the wrestling team. Around my freshman year of high school I was probably in some of the greatest shape of my life. I had been working so hard! I was also eating unhealthy, and fueling my body a bit too much. Every day I would think- I worked out, I can eat what I want.

My heaviest weight, during my junior year

My heaviest weight, during my junior year

Volleyball ended my sophomore year. (I was tired of the politics of playing a high school sport.) Unfortunately my eating habits never changed. I continued to eat bad foods in abundance. I was my heaviest weight (around 135 lbs) my junior year of high school.

I joined the golf team that year, and I felt myself gaining back some muscle, but I wasn’t working out enough to lose weight because I wasn’t working hard enough to make up for my bad eating habits. Thankfully, my junior year I discovered Zumba.

My first year golfing (I played my junior and senior year)

My first year golfing (I played my junior and senior year)

I began teaching Zumba the end of my junior year

I began teaching Zumba the end of my junior year

 

I learned that fitness wasn’t just a hobby, it was a way of life. Zumba helped me lose 10 lbs pretty quickly. I felt my fitness level rising and I loved the way I felt. I started running 5ks and by my senior year I was asked to become a Zumba instructor!

Senior year, Prom (I had lost 5-7 lbs, but still had 10 to go!)

Senior year, Prom (I had lost 5-7 lbs, but still had 10 to go!)

My senior year I was teaching 5-7 Zumba classes a week. Normally, someone with that schedule would lose weight, become toned, and look fabulous. I was still eating badly though. I wasn’t re-fueling with healthy choices and my body was storing all of my food as fat.

The summer before my freshman year in college I started to look at being healthy as my lifestyle. Not just working out, but also eating right. That summer I started to look better, without a change on the scale. Finally I started at OSU with the largest/best fitness facility in the country!

The summer before I went to OSU (still overweight)

The summer before I went to OSU (still overweight)

Going to the RPAC or other fitness facility became part of my daily routine. I started spending at least an hour at the gym every day, 5-6 times a week. Finally I lost another 8 lbs. By winter break, I was a solid 117 lbs and proud of how far I’d come.

Homecoming 2012, after losing 10 lbs

Homecoming 2012, after losing 10 lbs

 

Since then I’ve stopped weighing myself as often. I see myself gaining leg and arm muscle, but I’m no longer concerned with a number on the scale. For me, I want to be fit and feel great. A number will never make me feel that way, but working harder and pushing myself every day does!

Finally at my current weight! After losing 15-18 lbs!

Finally at my current weight! After losing 15-18 lbs!

Working out every day and loving it :)

Working out every day and loving it ๐Ÿ™‚

So this Transformation Tuesday I wanted to share my fitness journey with everyone. Now you see where I was, to understand how far I’ve come ๐Ÿ™‚ I struggle with my weight, so those of you in similar situations, you’re not alone! Keep working hard because the changes are gradual (as you can see!).

I wish you all the best of luck in your fitness journeys! If you have any questions fitness related, comment below:)

xoxo

Allisonย 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

