NYC Here I Come!

As I previously mentioned, I leave bright and EARLY for New York City tomorrow! I’m very excited and nervous for the short trip. I’ve been hoping and praying that the trip goes smoothly and as planned. I want to fit in as many sight seeing adventures as possible in the short time I’m in the city!

With traveling brings the great question: HOW DO I STAY HEALTHY WHILE TRAVELING?

Let me first say, it’s not easy. In our daily routines we get used to the usual temptations and learn how to avoid them. In a new place, everything looks amazing and you think “one cookie won’t hurt, right?” I’ll admit, splurging a bit never hurt anyone- I always have cheat meals/days once a week to stay on track the other days of the week. While traveling though, one cheat snack can turn into binging on junk for the whole trip.

Words to live by

Words to live by

Eating unhealthy foods leaves you sluggish and tired, which will kill your fun-loving vacation attitude. SO, while on vacations or trips, one splurge a day is okay, but once a week or once during the trip is much more acceptable.

So, how to stay fit on a trip? I advise exercising. Make sure your hotel or wherever you’re staying has a gym or place to work out- even if that means running outside. While I’m in NYC, our hotel won’t have a gym and there isn’t time in the schedule for running outside. However, NYC is such a huge place and I plan to walk everywhere to get my daily fix of physical activity.

Going to be walking a lot in New York!

Going to be walking a lot in New York!

For trips it is super important to PLAN AHEAD. For the trip to NYC I have a 20 hour bus ride there and back. On the bus, snacks and candy will be provided. With that in mind, I have baggies full of pretzels, protein bars, and other healthier alternatives so I won’t be tempted to grab for the other stuff.

I love Luna Protein Bars! (Mint chocolate chip the most!) Also, Cliff Bars are great.

I love Luna Protein Bars! (Mint chocolate chip the most!) Also, Cliff Bars are great.

Not super healthy, but in moderation these are better than chips!

Not super healthy, but in moderation these are better than chips!

I'm a sucker for this flavor... I could eat a whole bag! But I package them into smaller baggies to stay on track.

I’m a sucker for this flavor… I could eat a whole bag! But I package them into smaller baggies to stay on track.

 

 

Stay hydrated while on your vacations and trips. DRINK WATER. It’s so obvious, but people still don’t get it. Drinking water is basically the best thing you can do for your body. At restaurants, it’s also free so you’ll save some money. For my trip, I’m bringing my filtered water bottle to keep me on track.

Look at the menus of restaurants and places you know you’ll be going ahead of time. You can research all the nutrition information beforehand, so you know exactly what to order. Personally, I’ll be visiting the Hard Rock Café and Bubba Gump’s. I already know that both places offer healthy salad options or light shrimp dishes. Taking the time to look things up beforehand will help so much in the long run I promise!

I'm looking forward to some seafood this trip!

I’m looking forward to some seafood this trip!

This place is an all time favorite of mine:)

This place is an all time favorite of mine:)

 

Going on vacations and trips is fun, but in order to make them enjoyable and guilt-free, remember to eat wisely and stay active!

What travel snacks do you always pack? What’s your favorite restaurant in NYC?

xoxo

Allison

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to NYC Here I Come!

  1. Pingback: NYC Here I Come! | Home Far Away From Home

  2. Stunning quest there. What happened after? Good luck!

  3. wctt.info says:

    When I initially left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now
    whenever a comment is added I recieve four emails with
    the same comment. There has to be an easy method you can remove me from that service?
    Cheers!

  4. Isaac says:

    I’m gone to inform my little brother, that he should also pay a quick visit this weblog on regular basis to obtain updated from most up-to-date news update.

  5. My brother suggested I might like this web site.
    He was entirely right. This post truly made my day.
    You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  6. Brigette says:

    Do you have any video of that? I’d care to find out some additional information.

Leave a Reply

